There are many myths about what you should and shouldn’t eat or drink before getting behind the wheel. For instance, many people believe that drivers shouldn’t drink kefir because it contains alcohol, albeit in small amounts. But is kefir the only culprit? What other foods contain alcohol?
Alcohol, or ethyl alcohol, is found in foods for two reasons:
- Added Alcohol: Ethyl alcohol in one form or another is included in the recipe (cognac in candies and other confectionery, alcohol in tinctures, etc.).
- Fermentation: Ethyl alcohol is produced in foods during fermentation (dairy products, kvass, natural juices and fruits that undergo fermentation, sauerkraut, etc.).
There is also a possibility of increased blood alcohol levels due to fermentation processes in the intestines after consuming foods high in carbohydrates, including confectionery, and products containing yeast.
So, which specific foods contain alcohol?
- Kumys: One of the dairy products containing alcohol is kumys. The alcohol content ranges from 0.2 to 2.5%. However, this is only true for kumys sold in retail networks. Natural kumys, freshly made from mare’s milk, can contain up to 4% alcohol, depending on the preparation method.
- Kefir: It’s important to remember that alcohol is always present in dairy products, but it’s completely imperceptible when consumed. While fresh kefir contains a negligible amount of alcohol (about 0.02-0.03%), fermented kefir can contain up to 0.4% alcohol.
- Juices: Ordinary concentrated and natural juices can pose a danger. Many people are unaware of the alcohol content in such products, but natural juices are prone to fermentation. This is especially true for grape, apple, and blackcurrant juices. When stored in a warm place, these juices can develop up to 0.35% alcohol.
- Kvass: Live kvass also contains alcohol. While homemade kvass that has been sitting for no more than 2 days contains only traces of alcohol, some store-bought kvases can have an alcohol content of up to 2.2%.
- Chocolate and Confectionery: Adding alcohol to improve the taste of chocolate and candies is quite common, as well as in the production of cakes and pastries.
- Fruits and Berries: Alcohol is often present in these products, but this doesn’t mean they are harmful. Alcohol can appear in berries during storage. Bananas, oranges, grapes, and apples are particularly prone to fermentation. This doesn’t mean they can’t be given to children. Just make sure they are consumed fresh.
- Sauerkraut (Pickles and Other Vegetables): These are also fermentation products, which means they contain a small amount of alcohol. However, it usually does not exceed 0.5%.
- Tinctures: Tinctures are made on the basis of ethyl alcohol, the content of which in the product is indicated on the label.